top of page
Happy Kids with Books

Questionable Books in Public Schools Today

​Parents, the books listed below contain questionable and inappropriate content.  We encourage you to research each book your child brings home from school, and then make your own decision as to whether or not you wish your child to read it.

If your child is assigned to read one or more of these questionable books, or one or more of these books are in the school library or the teacher's classroom library, please contact us using our school incident report form.

Thank you to the Florida Citizens Alliance, and Collier County, FL for compiling the following list.

A Court of Mist and Fury
Sarah J. Maas
A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo
Jill Twiss
A Phoenix First Must Burn: Sixteen Stories of Black Girl Magic, Resistance, and Hope
Patrice Caldwell
Ace of Spades
Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Adam
Ariel Schrag
All American Boys
Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
All Boys Aren't Blue: A Memoir-Manifesto
George M. Johnson
All the Bright Places
Jennifer Niven
Almost Perfect
Brian Katcher
And Tango Makes Three
Justin Richardson, Peter Parnell
Another Day (Every Day)
David Levithan
Antiracist Baby
Ibram X. Kendi
Ask a Queer Chick: A Guide to Sex, Love, and Life for Girls Who Dig Girls
Lindsay King-Miller
Ask Me How I Got Here
Christine Heppermann
Autoboyography
Christina Lauren
Beautiful
Amy Reed
Beautiful Bastard
Christina Lauren
Being Jazz: My Life as a (Transgender) Teen
Jazz Jennings
Beloved
Toni Morrison
Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out
Susan Kuklin
Beyond Male and Female: The Gender Identity Spectrum
Anita R. Walker
Beyond the Gender Binary
Alok Vaid-Menon
Birthday: A love story for fans of One Day and Love, Simon
Meredith Russo
Birthday: A Novel
Meredith Russo
Black Girl Unlimited: The Remarkable Story of a Teenage Wizard
Echo Brown
Blankets
Craig Thompson
Boy2Girl
Terence Blacker
Brave Face: A Memoir
Shaun David Hutchinson
Breathless
Jennifer Niven
Celebrate Your Body 2: The Ultimate Puberty Book for Preteen and Teen Girls
Lisa Klein, Carrie Leff
Cemetery Boys
Aiden Thomas
Cinderella is Dead
Kalynn Bayron
Clap When You Land
Elizabeth Acevedo
Crank (The Crank Trilogy)
Ellen Hopkins
Daddy's Roommate (Alyson Wonderland)
Michael Willhoite
Dead End
Jason Myers
Dead Until Dark
Charlaine Harris
Dear Martin
Nic Stone
DECELERATE BLUE
Adam Rapp
Doing It Right: Making Smart, Safe, and Satisfying Choices about Sex
Bronwen Pardes
Doing It!
Hannah Witton
Drama: A Graphic Novel
Raina Telgemeier
Dreadnought: Britain, Germany, and the Coming of the Great War
Robert K. Massie
Dreaming In Cuban
Cristina García
Dress Codes for Small Towns
Courtney C. Stevens
Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters)
Jessica Shirvington
Every Day
David Levithan
Everywhere Babies
Susan Meyers, Marla Frazee
Exit Here.
Jason Myers
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
Jonathan Safran Foer
Fates And Furies
Lauren Groff
Fifty Shades of Grey
E. L. James
Firsts: A Novel
Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
Flashcards of My Life: A Novel
Charise Mericle Harper
Fly On The Wall: How One Girl Saw Everything
E. Lockhart
Forever...
Judy Blume
Full Disclosure
Camryn Garrett
Gender Identity: Beyond Pronouns and Bathrooms (Inquire & Investigate)
Maria Cook
Gender Queer: A Memoir
Maia Kobabe
Ghost Boys
Jewell Parker Rhodes
Girls on the Verge
Sharon Biggs Waller
Graceling Realm Series
Kristin Cashore
grl2grl: Short fictions
Julie Anne Peters
Home at Last
Vera B Williams, Chris Raschka
Homegoing
Yaa Gyasi
How I Paid for College: A Novel of Sex, Theft, Friendship, and Musical Theater
Marc Acito
How to Be an Antiracist
Ibram X. Kendi
I Am Jazz
Jessica Herthel, Jazz Jennings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Maya Angelou
I Think I Love You
Auriane Desombre
Identical
Ellen Hopkins
If I was Your Girl
Meredith Russo
Introducing Teddy: A gentle story about gender and friendship
Jessica Walton, Dougal MacPherson
It Feels Good to Be Yourself: A Book About Gender Identity
Theresa Thorn
It's Not Like It's a Secret
Misa Sugiura
It's Perfectly Normal: Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health
Robie H. Harris
Jacob’s New Dress
Ian Hoffman, Sarah Hoffman
Jesus Land: A Memoir
Julia Scheeres
Julián Is a Mermaid
Jessica Love
Kiki: Doin' It (Juicy Central)
Ayshia Monroe
Killing Mr. Griffin
Lois Duncan
l8r, g8r (Internet Girls)
Lauren Myracle
Lawn Boy
Jonathan Evison
Let's Talk About Love
Claire Kann
Lexicon: A Novel
Max Berry
Living Proud! Being Transgender
Robert Rodi, Laura Ross
Looking for Alaska
John Green
LUSH
Natasha Friend
Max and Friends Book Series
Kyle Lukoff, Luciano Lozano
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Jesse Andrews
Melissa (formerly "George")
Alex Gino
Mommy, Mama, and Me
Lesléa Newman
Monday's Not Coming
Tiffany D. Jackson
More Happy Than Not
Adam Silvera
Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress
Christine Baldacchino
My Princess Boy
Cheryl Kilodavis
Nineteen Minutes
Jodi Picoult
Normal People: A Novel
Sally Rooney
Not My Idea: A Book About Whiteness (Ordinary Terrible Things)
Anastasia Higginbotham
Not My Problem
Ciara Smyth
Odd One Out
Nic Stone
Once & Future
Amy Rose Capetta
Our Own Private Universe
Robin Talley
Out of Darkness
Ashley Hope Pérez
Outlander
Diana Gabaldon
Perfect
Ellen Hopkins
Pet
Emezi Akwaeke
Phoenix Goes to School: A Story to Support Transgender and Gender Diverse Children
Phoenix Finch, Michelle Finch
Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag
Rob Sanders
Prince & Knight
Daniel Haack
Rabbit is Rich
John Updike
Real Live Boyfriends: Yes. Boyfriends, plural. If my life weren't complicated, I wouldn't be Ruby Oliver
E. Lockhart
Red: A Crayon’s Story
Michael Hall
Rick
Alex Gino
Rift
Andrea Cremer
S.E.X.: The All-You-Need-To-Know Sexuality Guide to Get You Through Your Teens and Twenties
Heather Corinna
Seeing Gender: An Illustrated Guide to Identity and Expression
Iris Gottlieb
Sex Is a Funny Word: A Book about Bodies, Feelings, and YOU
Cory Silverberg
Sex Plus: Learning, Loving, and Enjoying Your Body
Laci Green
Sex: A Book for Teens: An Uncensored Guide to Your Body, Sex, and Safety
Nikol Hasler
Sissy: A Coming of Gender Story
Jacob Tobia
Sloppy Firsts (Jessica Darling)
Megan McCafferty
Something Happened in Our Town: A Child's Story About Racial Injustice
Marianne Celano, Donald Moses
Sparkle Boy
Leslea Newman
Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America
Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You
Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi
Th1rteen R3asons Why
Jay Asher
The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives
Dashka Slater
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Sherman Alexie
The Art of Being Normal: Secrets Never Stay Secret for Long
Lisa Williamson
The Berlin Boxing Club
Robert Sharenow
The Black Flamingo
Dean Atta
The Bluest Eye
Toni Morrison
The Breakaways
Cathy G. Johnson
The Family Book
Todd Parr
The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island
Dana Alison Levy
The Gender Quest Workbook: A Guide For Teens And Young Adults Exploring Gender Identity
Rylan Jay Testa, Deborah Coolhart, And Jayme Peta
The Glass Castle
Jeannette Walls
The God of Small Things: A Novel
Arundhati Roy
The Hate U Give
Angie Thomas
The Haters
Jesse Andrews
The Infinitive Moment of Us
Lauren Myracle
The Kite Runner
Khaled Hosseini
The Miseducation of Cameron Post
Emily M. Danforth
The New Queer Conscience
Adam Eli
The Peacock Among Pigeons
Tyler Curry, Clarione Gutierrez
The Purim Superhero
Elisabeth Kushner
The Stars and the Blackness Between Them
Junauda Petrus
The Temptation of Adam: A Novel
Dave Connis
The Truth About Alice: A Novel
Jennifer Mathieu
The Vincent Boys
Abbi Glines
The You I've Never Known
Ellen Hopkins
They Both Die at the End
Adam Silvera
This Book Is Gay
Juno Dawson
This Day In June
Gayle E. Pitman
This One Summer
Mariko Tamaki
Traffick
Ellen Hopkins
Trans+: Love, Sex, Romance, and Being You
Kathryn Gonzales, Karen Rayne
Triangles: A Novel
Ellen Hopkins
Tricks
Ellen Hopkins
TTFN (Internet Girls)
Lauren Myracle
Two Boys Kissing
David Levithan
Two Dads: A book about adoption
Carolyn Robertson
Unpregnant
Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
Unravel Me (Shatter Me)
Tahereh Mafi
Vampire Acedemy (1)
Richelle Mead
Wait, What?: A Comic Book Guide to Relationships, Bodies, and Growing Up
Heather Corinna And Isabella Rotman
Water for Elephants: A Novel
Sara Gruen
What Girls Are Made Of
Elena K. Arnold
When Aidan Became a Brother
Kyle Lukoff
Who Are You?: The Kid's Guide to Gender Identity
Brook Pessin-Whedbee
Wide Awake
David Levithan
Woke: A Guide to Social Justice
Titania McGrath
Worm Loves Worm
J. J. Austrian
A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl
Tanya Lee Stone

Parent Toolkit

Parent Toolkit.jpg

Our Parent Toolkit brings you the facts to be informed and the tools to make a difference in your child's life.  Please click the image above to see what's inside!

bottom of page